Founder Region Fellowship ~ Soroptimist International



Memorial Fellowship

Dorothy Sarnes was a founding member of Founder Region Fellowship Board of Directors, which in 1986 incorporated as a 501c(3) non-profit corporation. (Prior to 1986, Fellowship was a committee of Founder Region.)

Dorothy was elected the first director for District I, serving with Julia "Bess" Combs, President, Del Nickerson, District II; Jacque Brown, District III; Norma Rhoads, District IV; and Agnes Conrad, District V (which then included Hawaii and Guam).

When Dorothy passed in 2010, an anonymous donor made a $10,000 legacy contribution to Fellowship on Dorothy's behalf, specifying 3 fellowships the first year as follows:

  1. 1.A club member of (Dorothy's Club) SI El Cerrito;
    Stephanie Mewha (SI El Cerrito) was honored in February 2011

  2. 2.A Club President in District I;
    Claudia McCormick (SI Pleasanton/Dublin) was honored in June of 2010

  3. 3.A member of the Fellowship Board currently not a Fellow
    Jeannie Griffitts (SI Cloverdale) was honored at Conference 2010

For the next seven years, one Fellow was selected each year by the Fellowship President to be honored as a Fellow at conference. The first three Dorothy Sarnes Memorial Fellowship awardees were announced at the 2010 Founder Region Conference hosted by District VI at Oahu, Hawaii. The final awardee was announced at the 2017 Founder Region Conference in San Ramon, California.

Dorothy Sarnes Bio submitted by SI El Cerrito

Complete list of Dorothy Sarnes Fellows